Daily Project Kickoff Details

life-lessons-chalkboard-web2The official details for my daily project previously talked about are here. As I mentioned before, I’ve been pulling a lot of inspiration from other designers’ daily projects and decided to start one of my own. Lately I have been spending a lot of time exploring hand lettering and have really been loving it. So it seemed fitting to base my project on that so that I can sharpen my skills and build up some work.

Some of the rules I posted before were:​
1.) I want to do something unique. and 2.) I want create my work based on a theme. ​
​I know hand lettering projects aren’t unique so I am basing all of my drawings on the theme Life Lessons. This will give my project the uniqueness I was looking for and also focus it to hopefully make a cohesive collection.

3.) I want to showcase varied styles of work within that theme.
This is something that will need to be focused on with every new drawing. It is easy to get comfortable in a certain style of work so I really want to push to have varied pieces.

4.) I want this to remain a fun endeavor.
With that being said the illustrations I do can be very time intensive and to make quality work I can’t (and don’t want to) rush through them. I’m starting out with a 30 day project. I will be posting new pieces on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

And as part of this project it would be so much fun if others joined in. Anyone can join, the more the merrier, and you don’t have to use my Life Lessons theme or even my rules. The only requirement is that you are creating hand lettering and it needs to be friendly for all audiences. I’ve created a Pinterest board ​where I will be posting all of my new work in addition to here on the blog. To join this project send me a quick email: handletteringproject at gmail dot com with your Pinterest user name. (ie: http://www.pinterest.com/jaymesloan – jaymesloan is my Pinterest user name.)

I wanted to give everyone the details a little early so they can plan ahead. This project officially launches next week on March 20th.

Leave a comment