Life with Lilly: Five Years Later

lilly five years later

Today we are celebrating five years with our sweet little ball of fur, Lilly. I can honestly say that I can’t imagine life without her and I can’t remember life before her. She is one of the sweetest, loving animals I have ever met and filled with so much personality. Spend five minutes with her and you know exactly what I’m talking about. Much like a dog, she greets us at the door when we get home. She follows me around everywhere I go. When I run, she runs with her bell jingling on her collar. When I talk to her she responds with little, and sometimes not so little, meows. She wakes me up in the morning when I sleep through my alarm. She cuddles on my lap and purrs for hours. She loves to watch me knit and on occasion I will run out of yarn because she has chewed off a piece for herself. She loves to play and even wags her tail when you pet her. She has filled our hearts with so much love.


IMG_4100

Five years ago, she was a foster cat with Tigerlily Cat Rescue in Metro Detroit. We wandered into to PetSmart for dog food and made our habitual trip past the cats. She was there and up for adoption at the time. That’s about all it took to steal out hearts. As we walked past and she got our attention. She was meowing at us and rubbing up against the glass looking for some love. We loved her, but went on our way. After leaving we couldn’t stop talking about her. We went back to see her the next night and decided to apply to take her home. A few short days later we brought her home and the rest is history. I wrote about the whole experience and then some here.

As sweet as she is, this cat is a trip. When I say she has personality, I mean she has PERSONALITY.  Bold that and underline it three times. I love her to pieces for it. I also can’t remember the last time I got a full night’s sleep. I’ve been working hard to break her of waking us up for attention during the night. We have evening play sessions to tire her out and I try to keep her up as much as I can during the day. This seems to be working, however, as soon as the sun rises it is time to go. She wants me up, wants me up right now. Her new thing is batting me in the face as soon as my alarm starts to go off. It’s terribly annoying, yet effective. It’s hard to sleep with a cute little fur ball IN YOUR FACE. I can hear her purring in my ear before I even open my eyes. I’m not a morning person and waking up is a gradual process for me. I hit the snooze button a lot. It’s a process. A process that she doesn’t care for or tolerate. Her morning wake up call is actually starting to grow on me. I’ve been getting up earlier and actually getting a little more done because of it. Thanks, Lil.

IMG_4366

Life has been an adventure with her and we’re loving every second. Read more stories about this fur ball in my Life with Lilly blog series.

Have you adopted a pet before? I’d love to hear your stories!

Leave a Reply

