What nobody tells beginners..

Although I am not a beginner anymore, this video really spoke to me. I wish I could have watched this back in 2005 when I was about to graduate from college and enter the real world. Better yet, I wish I could have watched this back in 2001 when I was graduating from high school. Back then I felt lost. I didn’t know how I would ever make it as a creative, all I knew was that I had to try – I had to figure it out somehow. All my life I’ve felt this anxiety like my work wasn’t good enough and that I’d never be able to compete with all of the amazingly creative people out there. Even today I still feel it, but it has morphed from a doubtful, overwhelming anxiety into an intense drive to be better, shine brighter and to produce awesome work. That relief can only come from confidence in yourself, your abilities and your work. Greatness is built with practice. I think that this is such a wonderful, heartfelt message that can apply to so many different people in and out of the creative field. It’s a powerful 1 minute and 54 seconds.

Ira Glass on Storytelling from David Shiyang Liu on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

