Our Wedding Invitations

Some say that the devil is in the details, but I believe that the details are where greatness is born.

These invitations were a labor of love. They had to be perfect. I designed and redesigned mock-up after mock-up, but nothing was just right. Then I thought of using the shadowed images of pine trees in conjunction with the red birds that I love oh so much, and voilà!, this suite was born. Once I figured out the look I wanted, all of the pieces came together quickly.

I made the envelopments myself with GMUND wood grain embossed paper and attached a black metallic matte on the inside left, which the invitation was attached to. On the inside right of the envelopment I created a combination reception /directions card with a small map at the bottom. The rsvp card and return envelope were placed inside, and the envelopment was tied together with the most adorable red & white baker’s twine. And to top it off, the entire packet was placed in a red envelope that had hand addressed calligraphy, another labor of love by yours truly. I have to just say that I love the invitation suite, but I adore the envelopes. In fact, I adore them so much they are going to have their very own post with all of the crafty details for you to drool over.

Over all, my fiance and I love everything about them, every single detail. And I feel like I really achieved my goal of a semi-rustic, semi-elegant look with a playful feel to it. They are exactly what we wanted and tie into our wedding perfectly.

Check out all of the wedding invitation pictures on Flickr.

The Details
Fonts:
Albemarle Swash and Arno Pro

Paper:
Cougar 100# Smooth White Cover
Onyx 105# Metallic Cover
GMUND Limba White Wood Grain 111# cover
Fire Engine Red A7 and 4-bar envelopes

Materials:
Red & White Baker’s Twine
Sobo Craft Glue

Size: 5×7 inches, (A7)
Print Method: Digital Laser
Colors: CMYK

Leave a Reply

